Christian Education

Christian Theological Seminary Elects Leaders to its Board of Trustees – Inside Indiana Business

Myra Selby and Dana Sherwood

The Christian Theological Seminary elected its board members: Myra Selby, president; Fred Green Vice President; Dana Sherwood, Treasurer and Jo Taylor, Secretary.

Selby is an attorney and partner at Ice Miller LLP in Indianapolis. Selby is a graduate of Kalamazoo College (BA) and the University of Michigan Law School (JD), and she served as Director of Health Care Policy for the State of Indiana under Governor Evan Bayh. . She holds the distinction of being the first female and first African-American associate justice of the Indiana Supreme Court (1995-1999). There, Selby increased the court’s public transparency and wrote more than 100 majority opinions. In 2016, President Barack Obama appointed her as a United States Circuit Judge on the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit. The recipient of numerous awards, including the Madame CJ Walker Award, Selby has served on the CTS Board of Directors since 2017.

Green recently retired as Chief Strategy Officer and Chief Operating Officer at Cripe, where he held several different leadership positions, such as Head of Architecture. He earned a BFA from Indiana University and a BA in Architecture from the University of Kansas. Green is a member of several boards and professional organizations, including the American Institute of Architects; the Andrew J. Brown Academy Board of Trustees; the University of Kansas School of Architecture, Design and Planning Advisory Board; the Indy Public Safety Foundation Board of Directors; and the City of Indianapolis Board of Contractors.

Sherwood is president and CEO of C-Tech Corporation Inc., in Boggstown, which installs guardrails, fencing and other traffic safety devices throughout the state. She is a Certified Account Professional who earned a BS in Accounting from Butler University. Sherwood is a member of the First Christian Church of Shelbyville, where she served as a Sunday School teacher and chair of the congregational research committee, budget committee, Christian education, and strategic planning committee. Sherwood has served on several community boards, including the Shelby County United Fund, Shelby Senior Services, and the Indiana Construction Association, and she has also served on the Blue River Foundation Grantmaking Committee. She has been a member of the CTS Board of Directors since 2014.

Taylor is president of JAT Executive Coaching and Consulting. She earned a BS in Psychology and Communication from Goshen College and an MBA from Indiana University Kelley School of Business. Taylor has held numerous positions during her 31-year career at Eli Lilly and Co., including Vice President and Global Head of Ethics and Compliance (2011-2014) and Chief Client Officer and Vice President of global research (2014-2017). Taylor serves on the Development Board of the AMPATH/IU Center for Global Health and the Strategy Committee of Timmy Global Health, and she has been a member of the CTS Board of Directors since 2016.

Additionally, CTS has added five new members to its Board of Directors:

Dr. Judith G. Apple-VanAlstine lives in Fishers and is a member of the Geist (Disciples of Christ) Christian Church. She holds a doctorate in education, as well as a bachelor’s and master’s of science in elementary education, from Indiana University, Bloomington. For over 16 years, Apple-VanAlstine has worked in higher education and is dedicated to lifelong learning. She is Dean Emeritus of the School of Adult Learning at Indianapolis University. Apple-VanAlstine has also served as Director of Academic Programs at Indianapolis University and Director of Curriculum and Assessment at Center Grove Community School Corporation. Judith received the Accelerated Programs Commission’s Excellence in Teaching Award in September 2008.

Belinda Drake is the Director of Youth Services at Indiana Youth Group, where she serves youth ages 12-24 who identify as LGBTQ+, and their allies. A resident of Indianapolis and a member of the New Revelation Baptist Church, she has a bachelor’s degree in political science and law from IUPUI and has dedicated her career to community service. Drake has worked with the Indiana Family Social Services Administration and the Indiana Department of Child Services. In 2020, she ran for Indiana State Senate in District 32. Drake mentors local youth, volunteers for the Indianapolis NAACP Young Adult Committee and other community groups , organizes local voter registration and hosts STUDS Who Lead events to promote gender and sexual identity acceptance and inclusion.

Rev. Dr. William J. Smith, Jr. is pastor at Second Missionary Baptist Church in Kokomo. A native of Mathews County, Virginia, he was licensed and ordained in the Lebanon Baptist Church and served as an associate minister in the Third Baptist Church under Dr. Joe B. Fleming. William earned a BA and MA from Virginia University and Seminary, an MDiv from CTS, and a DMin from United Theological Seminary. Under his leadership, Second Baptist recently launched a Community Development Corp. Embracing Hope of Howard County and renovating Douglass School, a historic African-American school to serve as a community museum and cultural center and developing land for community transitional housing.

Timothy K.Sullivan is Chief Financial Officer of Thompson Thrift Construction. He lives in Bloomington and is a member of the First Christian Church. Tim holds a Bachelor of Science in Accounting from Indiana University and an MBA from Butler University. Previously, he served as vice president of finance and director of global financial planning and analysis at Bemis Co. He currently serves on the board of directors of Union Hospital and is a member of the accounting advisory board of the ‘Indiana State University. Active in numerous professional organizations, he is a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and a mentor at Indiana University’s Kelley School of Business. In 2005, he was a member of the Six Sigma Green Belt of the Task Force for the Advancement of Liberal Arts Education at ISU.

Dr. Alana Jamil Washington is executive pastor of Amazing Grace Christian Church in Indianapolis. She holds a Doctor of Pharmacy, an MBA in Leadership, Entrepreneurship and Innovation, and a Masters of Business Administration from Butler University. Since 2018, she has worked for Eli Lilly and Co. and is currently Senior Director, US Alliance – Diabetes, Global Medical Affairs. She has also worked with the Methodist Medical Group and at St. Vincent Women’s Hospital and St. Vincent Hospital, where she served as Director of Pharmacy Services. She currently serves on the board of the Indiana Pharmacists Association. She co-directed the first fundraising campaign for Amazing Grace Christian Church, where she served as a board member and secretary from 2013 to 2018.